Pie Baking!

I don’t know what I am more proud of- the apple pie I baked today or the slideshow I have put up on the blog. Both I think!:) Take a look at the slideshow 😀 The pie turned out well so I am contemplating writing the recipe. What says you?

(Edited to add recipe, based on encouraging comments!) 

Apple Pie 

Ingredients:
For the pastry/ crust-

•·        300gms maida

  • 200gms butter
  • 100 gms sugar
  • 1 egg yolk-optional
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • A little chilled water
  • A inch of salt if using unsalted butter

For the filling-

  • ½ kgs apple
  • Sugar if apples are sour
  • Generous pinch of cinnamon powder
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 3 ½ tsp rum-optional
  • A few chopped raisins and walnuts

Method:

  • Sieve the maida add butter, sugar, egg yolk, lemon juice and gather together with a little chill water to form dough. Chill in the fridge for half an hour.
  • Peal , core and chop the apples, add sugar, cinnamon, lemon juice, run, raisins and walnuts. Mix well.
  • Divide the dough into two parts.
  • Grease and prepare a flan tin.
  • Roll out one part of the doughand line the flan tin with this rolled out pastry dough. Prick the base with a fork.
  • Roll out the second part of the dough and using a knife cut 1″ strips.
  • Add the filling to the flan tin. Use the strips of dough and lay then in a cross wise fashion over the filling. Using a few other strips, seal the edges of the pie.
  • Bake at about 200 Deg.C for 25 mins.

Notes:

  • Thought the original recipe doesn’t suggest baking blank, my experience suggests that doing so is better. Baking the base of the pie first (minus the filling) ensures that the base of the pie is crisp too. If the filling is added and then everything is baked together, the base tends to get a little soggy.
  • Instead of making a criss-cross design on the pie, you could roll out the second part of the dough and use it to cover the filling completely. If you choose to do that, remember to prick the surface with a fork.
  • This recipe is alittle on the buttery side. So if you feel like it you could reduce the amount of butter by around30-50 gms.
  • It’s easiest to work with pastry dough if its chilled.
  • I am told by my mom that my grandmother had a fabulous recipe for apple pie. She learnt it from an American friend and it’s supposed to be The Best Recipe for Pie. I’m trying to look through prehistoric hand-written recipe collections of my mum. If I stumble over that recipe I will put it put here.

5 thoughts on “Pie Baking!

  1. Hey Mandy …

    y thats the nicest slide show I have ever seen.
    Pray tell .. how can I make some good stuff which is easy to make … i am getting sick and tired of the daal chawal everyday I make to survive.

    I know an angel like u will tell me some stuff .

    Do tell.

    Nicest person alive and kickin ..

    Sourav

  2. what a conincidence….i was considerin apple pie had a recepie but then switched to pizza instead!!! but ur all set for the marriage market 🙂

  3. Pingback: Apple pie « Bakingbuddies

  4. 🙂 I like it.. and have book marked some more (including this) recipes from your blog today.. i love sol kadhi and apple kheer sounds yum.

    Cheers
    Tara

    Tara! Good to see you back in action!:) The pie is tried and tested by yours truly, so start with that.. if you are looking for baking recipes, there are a few on baking bites…that blog hasnt been updated in eons!

Leave a Reply

