Gadgets that donot rule my life

Saw a rather strange sight last evening. It made me take a serious look at how gadgets are taking over our lives.

When you walk around the streets in Mumbai and the suburbs, there is one sight that greets you with shockingly frequency-people talking over their mobile phones. You could be in a park, a cinema hall, a bus, a train, a market, wherever. You are going to have people talking over phones. Often talking a bit too loudly.  You may not like it but these people are everywhere and tragically they continue to speak at relatively high decibel levels, completely ignoring the dirty looks you direct towards them. You know, I am not the one to keep quiet in such situations. Well, at least not literally. I throw people who talk too loudly, too much and for too long, dirty looks, especially in movie halls knowing very well that the theatre is dark and the guy obviously has no clue about what I am trying to communicate to him(in my experience its generally a him and the discussion is always either about business or about instructions to get from A to B) The other places where I show my dagger eyes to unsuspecting cell phone-talkers is temples and clinics. I think there are certain places where silence should be maintained and people need to respect that. Though I must also mention that generally my throwing dirty looks has no impact whatsoever on the people, but I it do it al the same hoping one day someone will take the clue and learn to behave. I went for a stroll late last evening and met this sight. Two young girls walking in the park. From a distance they looked like college friends animated chatting about something. They were talking for sure but their body language was kinda odd. I walked a little closer and discovered that both the girls were talking but not to each other. They were holding independent conversations with people on their respective cell phones! That’s what I call spending quality time with friends. And it’s not like they were making brief, important calls. I found them yapping on the phones some twenty minutes later too. Why would you go out with your friend if you didn’t intend talking to her?! You could do that from the comforts of your house too! Continuing in that vein let me also state here that the cell phone is nowadays a sparingly used gadget for me. The initial excitement of possessing a cell phone is long gone. It’s now something that rings once in a while or otherwise rests peacefully in my bag. I don’t do too much with my phone. Never really have. Which is why I wonder what people do with all those super advanced handsets. I still do exactly what I did with my first cell phone- call and sms. I have temporarily exchanged my cell with my dad’s( on his instance). His is a sleeker, nicer, more advanced handset but not surprisingly I am still doing the same things- smsing and calling. Some things never change!

Found this fabulous cartoon that depicts what I think of hi-fi cell phones.

Saw a rather strange sight last evening. It made me take a serious look at how gadgets are taking over our lives. When you walk around the streets in Mumbai and the suburbs, there is one sight that greets you with shockingly frequency-people talking over their mobile phones. You could be in a park, a cinema hall, a bus, a train, a market, wherever. You are going to have people talking over phones. Often talking a bit too loudly.  You may not like it but these people are everywhere and tragically they continue to speak at relatively high decibel levels, completely ignoring the dirty looks you direct towards them. You know, I am not the one to keep quiet in such situations. Well, at least not literally. I throw people who talk too loudly, too much and for too long, dirty looks, especially in movie halls knowing very well that the theatre is dark and the guy obviously has no clue about what I am trying to communicate to him(in my experience its generally a him and the discussion is always either about business or about instructions to get from A to B) The other places where I show my dagger eyes to unsuspecting cell phone-talkers is temples and clinics. I think there are certain places where silence should be maintained and people need to respect that. Though I must also mention that generally my throwing dirty looks has no impact whatsoever on the people, but I it do it al the same hoping one day someone will take the clue and learn to behave. I went for a stroll late last evening and met this sight. Two young girls walking in the park. From a distance they looked like college friends animated chatting about something. They were talking for sure but their body language was kinda odd. I walked a little closer and discovered that both the girls were talking but not to each other. They were holding independent conversations with people on their respective cell phones! That’s what I call spending quality time with friends. And it’s not like they were making brief, important calls. I found them yapping on the phones some twenty minutes later too. Why would you go out with your friend if you didn’t intend talking to her?! You could do that from the comforts of your house too! Continuing in that vein let me also state here that the cell phone is nowadays a sparingly used gadget for me. The initial excitement of possessing a cell phone is long gone. It’s now something that rings once in a while or otherwise rests peacefully in my bag. I don’t do too much with my phone. Never really have. Which is why I wonder what people do with all those super advanced handsets. I still do exactly what I did with my first cell phone- call and sms. I have temporarily exchanged my cell with my dad’s( on his instance). His is a sleeker, nicer, more advanced handset but not surprisingly I am still doing the same things- smsing and calling. Some things never change! Found this fabulous cartoon that depicts what I think of hi-fi cell phones.

gadget.jpg

Check out the main website of the cartoonist -http://www.cartoonchurch.com/blog/  

3 thoughts on “Gadgets that donot rule my life

  1. I must say I agree with you. I too, sparingly use my phone and as you have realised, rarely know where it is. My answering machine message is carefully tailored at telling callers to bugger off and that I am not going to return their calls just becasue they called me.

    And now, to spite your friend, i will say this: rose, chameli, champa, gainda, lilly, carnations. Now one can say that my language is too flowerly. Hmmpfff..

Leave a Reply

