The Luncheon Party

I was the official maid cum cook today. Our part-time maid took a day off today to celebrate bhai duj with her family. That left me with unwashed utensils piled high, a dirty floor and a dusty house. I don’t mind house work. Not because I love it but because I have to do it so rarely that its almost fun!!:P

House cleaning done, I turned my attention to the day’s lunch. By now I am sure you have realised I make only those things that are a) easy b) quick and c)require minimun clearing up afterwards! I settled on Lemon Rice and Sol Kadhi.I was introduced to Sol Kadhi rther recently when I made a trip to Mahesh Lunch Home with my then-colleagues. I loved the drink and read a few websites to find out how it was made and then tried making it at home.  It dint turn out as good as I had hoped, but it wasn’t bad. Since then I have made it a few time , getting better with each time.Here are the recipies of the dishes. This is Lemon Rice as I know it. I am sure this is not the most authentic recipe but it works for me!

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium katori for uncooked rice
  • 2 small onions (finely chopped)
  • 2 whole red chillies
  • About 20 peanuts
  • 1tbsp chana dal
  • A few curry leaves
  • Tiny piece of ginger
  • 1/8 tsp rai
  • Pinch of turmeric
  • Salt to taste
  • 6tsp oil
  • Half a lemon

Method:

  • Boil the rice in sufficient water.
  • Take a wok, add oil and heatAdd the peanuts and fry till crisp. Keep aside.
  •  Do the same with the chana dal.
  • In the same oil, add rai,allow it to pop. Then add the red chillies, ginger piece and curry leaves.
  • Add the chopped onions till they take on a pink colour.
  • Add the tumeric, the fried peanuts and chana dal and toss in the cooked rice.
  •  Mix well. Squeeze half a lemon over the rice and mix well.

Sol Kadhi is easy to make. The only tough part is extracting the coconut milk out of fresh coconuts! This is what you need to make sol kadhi.
It serves two.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 a fresh coconut
  • 4 pieces of kokumA
  • small piece of green chillie(optional)
  • A few cloves of garlic(optional)
  • 1 tsp chopped coriander
  • Salt to taste

Method:

  • Grind the fresh coconut in a mixie and extract the coconut milk. The process needs to be done at least twice to get a sufficient amount.
  • Soak kokum in water till water turns pinkish.
  • Grind the chillies and garlic to get a fine paste.To the coconut milk, addkokum water, chillie-garlic paste(optional) and salt.image015.jpg
  • Chill in refrigerator
  • Garnish with coriander and serve preferably with rice.

3 thoughts on “The Luncheon Party

  1. Nice .. sol kadhi sounds like a good deal …
    sounds like soul curry however … like u kill people and place their souls in one place and add some garlic to taste 😛

    Nice write up 🙂

  2. thats water in which kokum has been soaked for a while. if the kokum is soaked for sometime the water and rubbed a little, the water turns pinkish and takes on the taste of kokum.

Leave a Reply

