Hat wearing an’ al’

It such a joy rooting through drawers that havent been touched in ages and finding a terribly scratched yet functional CD that plays songs you collected(read begged, borrowed and copied) while in college. The re-discovered CD has been giving me hours of happiness ever since it was spotted on Friday evening. And that basically means I have had a soul-satisfying, musical weekend. šŸ™‚

Here’s a Phil Collins song that I like. I think its upbeat and generally fun. If you like you can hear it on the Box.net widget on the right column.

She came looking for me with her arms open wide,
like some long lost friend of mine.She said ‘Excuse me, but do you remember me ?’
I said ‘No, I don’t believe I do’
So she looked me up and down
and undressed me with her eyes,
then she said ‘You’ve got everything I need, you’ve got everything I want’

So I said ‘OK,you can wear my hat,
you can have my coat,
you can take my shirt
‘cos I don’t need it.
You can wear my shoes,
you can take my socks,
come on take my bag it’s yoursIf you love it,
you can have it if you love it,
ain’t no problem if you love it,
come on take it if you love it.

So her friend came up to me
with a pen and paper in her hand,
expressing some interest in the number of my room,
She said ‘Excuse me, but do you remember me? ‘
I said ‘No,’ she said ‘Can I appeal to you?’

So I looked her up and down
and realising her insinuations I blushed
she said ‘Listen babe you don’t know me,
no you don’t know me but you owe me,

and I love you,
yes I love you,
put your arms around me ‘cos I love you,
I got all your records and I love you’

So I suggested

you can wear my hat,
you can have my coat,
you can take my shirt
‘cos I don’t need it.
You can wear my shoes,
you can take my socks,
come on take my bag it’s yours

If you love it,
you can have it if you love it,
ain’t no problem if you love it,
come on take it if you love it.

Well later on that day this guy came to me
with a scrap of paper in his hand
he said ‘Hey buddy can you sign your name for me?’
I said ‘Why, do I owe you money?’ He said ‘No’
I said ‘Listen pal do I know you? Have we ever met?
Why do you want my name on this little piece of paper?

He said ‘I love you,
I don’t know you but I love you,
like my brother I love you,
put your arms around me ‘cos I love you’

I said ‘Hey let’s not rush things

you can wear my hat,
you can have my coat,
you can take my shirt
‘cos I don’t need it.
You can wear my shoes,
you can take my socks,
come on take my bag it’s yours

If you love it,
you can have it if you love it,
ain’t no problem if you love it,
come on take it if you love it.

You can wear my hat,
You can wear my hat,
You can wear my hat,
Come on wear my hat.

PS:Through the re-discovery of this precious CD,I have proved to the world that my habit of hoarding isnt entirely pointless. Ma? Are you listening??

13 thoughts on “Hat wearing an’ al’

  1. you havent?? how come.. i thot it was pretty popular ( at least, it was on my list of fav.songs!:P)…anyway, you can listen to it here…. i like “you”l be in my heart” a LOT! :)i dont have a copy of the song so will hunt for that one on youtube while you hunt the hat song!:D

  2. hehehe…seems like i am the only one who has heard this song!!its nice..at least i like it…so go——> and listen to it! šŸ˜€

  3. ah well. neither have i heard of it. But not i’ll hunt for it and listen, time permitting šŸ™‚
    But yes, the things long forgotten and discovered later give loads of happiness and thrills. Be it old cds, casettes or photographs and things collected in childhood.
    šŸ™‚

  4. ok..its final then. my taste in music is weird!
    anyway, you dont have to hunt for it Lively… its there on the box.net widget on the right column… šŸ˜€

  5. demand has been duly noted. a suitable post shall be visible at the blog in a few hours,madam. we are sorry for the delay.kindly bear with us. šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

