Fight for 55

Like I mentioned in the last post, a friend suggested I should try my hand writing fiction. Then yesterday Bruf asked me if I would like to try my hand at 55 fiction and I though to myself “Why not? How hard can it be?”  Turns out, pretttty hard!

Before I began writing,I dug out some history on Fiction 55. I needed to know the exact rules of this new game. Wikipedi, as always, came in handy.

The origin of 55 fiction can be traced to a short story writing contest organised by New Times , an independent alternative weekly in San Luis Obispo in 1987.

A literary work will be considered 55 Fiction if it has:

  1. Fifty-five words or less (A non-negotiable rule)
  2. A setting,
  3. One or more characters,
  4. Some conflict, and
  5. A resolution. (Not limited to moral of the story)

Many new versions of the 55 Fiction have started to modify on the rules by either ignoring the rule to include conflict, or basing it on a true incident and dramatising it.

So here’s my first attempt at 55 fiction. You are not allowed to laugh! ( ok , you can laugh, but I better not hear ya!). Indulge me for a bit folks. Oh! Before we go on to the story, I may as well tell you that I dint manage to tie it all up in 55 words. I used 94. Hopefully I’ll be better next time around.

“Its your fault!” ” No! its your’s!”

The high pitched shrieking voices and the banging on the door became unbearable. She had to do something to make it stop or she’d go out of her mind.

She opened the door to give the nuisance- aka the neighbour’s kids an earful. They were getting worse by the day. She opened her front door to find them kicking the door, yelling at each other. They spotted her and stopped immediately. She raised her eyebrows in question. They replied sheepishly “Sorry aunty, we have locked ourselves out!”

23 thoughts on “Fight for 55

  1. I’m too God-damned bored and not an idea in my stupid head. Want to write but don’t know what. So I’m time-passoing commenting on blogs! SIGH

  2. lively- not bad! good way to pass time..
    i donno how to disable the comment thingy.. if u accept a comment from a person the first time, it automatically shows up(without moderation) the next time.. try doing smthing to the settings in comments na

  3. Very nice, sounds like a lot of fun! I can not even comment in less than fifty five words, and here’s a suggestion for a story in less than 55 words:)
    By the way your story is nice, even if it is more than 55 words:)

  4. @burf- and ur question is related to the story..HOW?

    @IH- thanks!! it honestly wasnt easy to write in such few words.. but now im taking it up as a challenge.. i WILL write one story within 55 words..even if it is utter crap! lol

  5. oooh…so u really expect me to answer that Q!hmmm…..
    may be i will…may be i wont…iam hving dificultyin making up my mind …….. 😛

    b&w pics? yup..saw them.. n i think they are cool!:D

  6. @burf- if not answering the question gives you such insights, is there any reason to answer the Q at all?:P 😛 😛

  7. those three smileys tell me that u got some smell of victory 😀 which might still be a little evading 😛

    and anyways u were looking for reasons, i wasn’t, was looking for an answer instead 😛

  8. wat evading victory are u talking of? I won that contest ..fair and square!!

    u were the one making statements about getting “insights”!! i shudnt give out any answers now..especially since u hv already got such insights.. i wudnt want to undermine them! 😛

Leave a Reply

