Domestic godess? err..almost!

Just because I made a resolution to go slow  on blogging, you guys decided to stop tagging me! No fair!!! I’m generally partial to tags- just so long as they don’t require me to make public things that I would rather keep private. There’s a meme going around that asks bloggers to give evidence of how “great” they are in the domestic sphere. Monika’s done a post on it and so has Abha. And because no one tagged me, I am tagging myself, if that’s even possible, and doing a post.

Let me take you back to the time when one of my cousins was tying the knot. As family we were obviously invited to the wedding and all the ceremonies that preceded the main event. Living quite a distance away for the scene of action, my parents had decided to attend only the wedding. I wasn’t too happy with that. To me, at 16 years of age, the circus that Indian weddings usually are, was very alluring. I wanted to be a part of everything, see everything, participate in everything (except the dancing. That I could and can live without. I prefer not to dance, not for my sake but for the sake of others’ who have to watch me make a complete fool of myself with my two left feet and all.) Seeing my extreme enthusiasm and the situational challenge faced by me, one of my uncles offered to let me stay with his family till the wedding was over. He was in the cousin’s immediate family and that meant he would be attend all the events leading up to the wedding. What more did I want? I happily packed a bag and tagged along with him. Learning from my example another cousin, S, who lived even further away than us, decided on camp along with me at our uncle’s. We dint really need the wedding to get us all excited and charged up. Between the uncle’s family, S and me, we were enough cousins to have celebrations of our own!

One afternoon, while everyone took a nap to rejuvenate themselves for one of the ceremonies – I put myself to good use. My uncle used to have this part time maid who would do odd jobs like ironing clothes in addition to the usual jhaadu-pochha and kapada. Trying to be efficient and helpful, I though of ironing the clothes for the evening myself.  I pulled out my clothes from the heap set aside for the maid to iron and extracted S’s clothes as well. I was going to iron my own clothes so what would another 2-3 clothes matter? I ironed my clothes and kept them in a neat pile and began tackling S’s lehnga. The moment I placed the iron on it, I heard a sizzling sound. Unperturbed the noise, I considered it a minor distraction and continued running the iron along a straight line. Some more sizzling sound was heard, this time accompanies by small plumes of smoke. It was the smoke that sent off alarm bells in my head. Something was wrong.  I lifted the iron and peered at it. There were trails of red, green and gold decorating the stainless steel surface, akin to a smudged spray painting. I moved my gaze to the lehnga then. The off white base that was once embellished with a pretty pattern constitued of tiny polka dots in red, green and gold, now had practically no pattern and the cloth wore a singed look. Oops.  Not too sure of how to undo the mess I had created, I folded the  lehnga and kept it back in the pile of clothes, switched off the iron and took up a corned in the house and pondered about how to break the news to my cousin. S was bound to be furious. More than her being furious, I was worried about what she would wear at night. She couldn’t quite turn up in the jeans and t-shirt at an event where all would be dressed in finest. And what was I tell her parents when I met them?? I was two years older than S, I was supposed to know what I was doing.

When S woke up from her siesta, she began getting things together for the evening. She asked me if the maid had come in the afternoon to iron the cloths. “She dint, I tried ironing your clothes. But I think I burnt your lehnga a little, S. I dint mean to but the iron was too hot for the light material of your dress I think”. Without a word S ran to the ironing board, pulled at her beloved dress, and looked at it with a broken heart. I waited for a barrage of reprimanding words. “It was gifted by dad, you know.” was all she said. That made me feel infinitely worse.  “What will you wear tonight?” I approached the topic I was dreading. “I brought along a spare dress. And mom’s stopping over here before she goes to the venue tonight, so she can bring me something from too.”  Ok so it wasn’t as bad as I had imagined it to be- S would have something to wear, I would only have to deal with two sets of incensed parents- her and mine.

S wore her spare dress that evening, which for the record, I thought was nicer than the lehnga. To my utter surprise my fears of being pulled up by her mom were unfounded. All she told me was I needed to be more careful while ironing. I got a brief lesson on “how to iron clothes” by my mother but not much else.   Here I was expecting to hear a no end of my error, no matter how unintentional, and all I got was nothing!!  What can I say? I have nice family.

PS: Incidentally, have you read the Undomestic Godess by Sophie Kinsella? I recommend it. It makes a good read.:D

29 thoughts on “Domestic godess? err..almost!

    • hitchy! partner in crime!!! high five!!!! 😀

      baki saare blog vaasion: aa dekhe zara, kissme kitna hai dum…..
      😛 😀

      *crafty zooms off like roadrunner…beep beep*

      err,did i miss something here? werent you two competing to be the first? now u guys have made a team??yeh kya chakkar hai??

  1. you do have a nice family… !!! u got away !!! now lets read what u are recommending… by that time i think the 4th 5th and 6th people will have commented.. !

    yes,yes…i live amongst nice ppl.. thank god for that.. read the book…entertaining it is.

    • not at all !!! !
      u got that right!!

      it seems we two will rule the first 5-10 comments on all blogs !!! teee heee….
      yes, looks like it..
      absolutely Crafty…. duniya maane bura to goli maro… !!!!!
      arre wat is all this??goli maro and all?violence on my blog!!sheesh!!

      😎 😎 😎

  2. wow! mandy u got off easy, but the guilt must have been killing! hugs!!!!!

    yo! killed me nice n proper..

    this was funny!!! i have ironed my own brand new kurta like this…one sizzle and the cloth had some modern art on it right in the front…and i was 22 for god sakes!

    and suddenly my incident doesnt seem that bad anymore…

    but mandy…u may not be domestic goddess….u r the BAKING GODDESS!!!! muah!!!!!! 😀
    *blushes n replies in all modesty* not quite….but i hope im getting there..

    all those things u bake…drool! its time to sing again….

    shayad crafty shines ka khayal, dil mein aaya hai,
    isiliye mandy ne mujhe, ghar chai pe bulaya hai!!

    rofl

    😀

  3. LOL!!
    The first 5 comments are from Crafty and Hitchy! 😀
    ya man.. its like a rule they live by i think- have to be the first guys on all blogs..

    good to know that you didn’t get any sort of scoldings!
    I have not burnt anything that badly yet while ironing! 😛
    Have razed a dupatta though! 😀 😀

    are u sure? do u iron at all!!?? i thot everyone had an ironing mishap story..

  4. Lol @ dancing bit!!! Hugs mandy!! I have like a dozen feet and all are left!! all i know is the “my name is lakhan…sajno ka sajan” style! 😀

    so there are more ppl like me!! i love that!!! btw crafty, that song is prehistoric i think…lol…

  5. lo wondering when will i read a real comment 🙂 i.e. apart from hitchy and crafty’s fight 🙂
    lol..there are a few “real” comments…

    u have a real nice family but then parents are like that i guess we get the least when we are expecting the most and vice versa
    i knoww!!!life is oddly unpredictable

  6. omg…just loo at the People Speak side bar widget…its filled with hitchy’s n crafty’s pics!!!
    lol.. i thot u’d nvr notice!!!

    am getting a wee bit embarrassed…but i’m sure it’s a passing phase! the embarrasment, ie!!
    lmoa… i can imagine its a phase that’ll pass off in a jiffy..am i right ,crafty, hitchy??

  7. Your intentions were right at the first place and you did come clean immediately! So good that it didn’t become a big issue…

    thats a good way to look at it…good intentions pay…sometimes at least!
    Don’t we all have at least one ironing disaster?! 🙂 I still have my ironbox pattern printed on one of my pullover!
    whats ur’s??

  8. Wow….that was an anti-climax na 🙂 But a pleasant one.

    anti climax that saved me a lot of unpleasantnes…so im not cribbing!!

    Did u have to buy a new lehenga for your cousin or something?

    No no..my aunt was quite cool…took it very well…

    But it was a sweet gesture on your part to iron her clothes too. Let me go and check if I get the Undomestic Goddess book from the library 🙂

    btw, when are u doing this meme?werent u tagged by monika??

    • No-no by Abha 🙂 What Mandira….you want me to take up this tag? Aakhir reputation ka sawaal hai 😉
      right, sorry it was abha.. i think u shud totally take it up…it will enhance ur reputation… u will be able to share with the world how u, like us mortals, learnt as you went along… u will be a story of hope for us… we’ll begin thinking ” if HC can do it, i can too

  9. After reading Crafty and Hitchy’s comments I forgot what the topic was and what I was about to comment. 😀 These two remind me of Itchy and Scratchy. 😆
    lol…itchy n scratchy?? lol

    Aww..you were only trying to help. (By helping her to wear a better dress than that lehenga)
    ha ha ha…good point Solilio!! very good..

    • ROFL!!!!! 😀 Solilo…am i really rolling…*wipes tears* hee!!!! yeah, we’ll call it the Hitchy n Crafty Show!!!!!!!!! 😀 with the trademark tune and all!!!

      i soo like the idea of a trademark tune man… the idea rocks.. i am sold!!may be i will sponsor the cost of production for the tune or smthing..

  10. you guys are all mad. the people who commented here that is. they are all mad.

    lol.. btw u n me, yes we do see the streak of insanity.. but sheesh…dont say anything..wudnt want them to take offence now, wud we?;)

    as for the post, whatta flow of words man. u know i was expecting her spare dress to be better than the dad-gifted lengha! believe me or not haha. without that, the perfect story would not have a perfect bollywoodish ending. 😀 no bollywoodish ending = no awwws no oooohs
    you mean like no high drama na?

    but now u get loads of awws and oohs. here goes.

    AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW u have a nice family awwwwwwwwwwwwww.

    OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH S’s spare dress was better oooooooooooooooooooooooooh.

    no.no i dont think its the ppl that commented.. i think u are a bit nutty too roop!! lol…..err…as am i..i hate to admit!!

    heeheee 😀

  11. crafty wants to make conversation with mandy!
    hey crafty!

    wassup wassup wassup???
    oh the usual…

    no interview calls yet mandy? i am getting all 😐
    dont, dont..hang in there…
    so much work! how’s work scene there??? r they killin u too? r u hiding in the loo?? 😛 😛
    i was never hiding in the loo, u know it!!!!!

    hahahah! me wanna vacation like roopsie! 😐
    when do we go to SL? the boat is ready mandy…
    we’ll go in the break btween ur present job n ur new one… thats a fine time i think…boat??? think airoplanes,crafty…boats are too slow..

    😀

  12. now you wait! no tag will be left untouched by you! hehe!
    ok..just make sure they arent the “reveal ur soul” kinda tags.. the rest im all game for!
    made an excellent read girl! 🙂

    my parents reacted like that all the time, unexpectedly calm!

    does that mean u make an unexpectedly calm parent too?

    cheers!

  13. Well , from this post, yes it turns out that you have a great family and understanding people around,
    the post also shows the honest Mandy that we know.
    it was such a sweet post-sizzling, burning and singeing included

    lol.. yes, a nice family..thats wat i have..:D

  14. Nice post… good to know that things didn’t turn out as bad….

    I have a ‘great hand’ at repairing electric or mechanical appliances.. I mean, whenever I touch anything, it has to go bad.. 🙂

    lol.. my dad has a great hand too.. he repairs everything… just that the thing has a few less screws than it began with!!else things usually work pretty ok…

  15. Your have the nicest family!!!! And I think it was really nice of you to think of helping in the first place 🙂
    the intention was good…

    I LOVED Undomestic Goddess! I actually loved every book of Sophie Kinsella’s 🙂 Have you read the shopoholic series?
    no i havent!! give full name..will check it out.. she writes well…

Leave a Reply

